PB’s and mental health

This week had been a strange week training wise. I have been struggling to get back into my pre-suffering level of training, I can’t put my finger on why but it’s just not there. Despite this I achieved two milestones; the first one was a new 10km PB at a time of 1 hr 12 minutes. I am confident I can get this below 1 hr 10 minutes before the end of the month as the first 2.5km was ran with my partner at a slower pace than my normal pace. Secondly I ventured beyond the jetties and out into the open waters of Pugney’s lake to complete a 450m “swim”. It may not have been 450m of recognisable swimming strokes but it was 450m on top of the water.

pugneys

In addition to my normal nominated by my dad for the PTSD awareness challenge, 22 press ups everyday for 22 days. Why 22? On average 22 Veterans commit suicide every day a staggering statistic. Press ups won’t bring these guys back or take away there suffering but knowing people are aware of their battles may help even a little. Away from OCR my sport is rugby league, recently a young Leeds Rhinos player who has suffered tremendously with injuries has spoken out about his own battle with depression*. In a sport renowned for it’s toughness and masculinity this must have taken a strength far greater than that displayed on the field. But should it really be headline news that a player has mental health issues? should it be something people are afraid to discuss? Ultimately mental health is no different from physical health and sometimes our health lets us down.

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/rugby-league/10496357/ward-raising-awareness-for-mental-health#ooid=dubHFtNDE6np75xvpM7f7U5tFdZkRn6V

*To read more check out Stevie Wards Mantality magazine here.

There’s no 56 days until my first Spartan experience. So much has been said about the Spartan races, how tough they are and the forfeits for failure. I have resigned myself to the idea of doing a few burpees along the way, I’m ok with it but the thought of what else might be waiting for us is both exciting and nerve wrecking. Ultimately though I can’t wait to be back on an obstacle course, in fact I’m not sure I can wait 56 days, it may need to be sooner rather than later.

This week I reached 300 vies on my blog, that’s 3oo exposures to my preparation for the rata race dirty weekend and 300 exposures to the charities I have chosen to raise awareness and funds for. If you have never read any of my other blogs and am wondering what I’m doing and why I’m doing it, follow the links and read more about my challenges and charities. If you have read my blog before you will be aware of the fantastic work Scotty’ little soldiers does. Today is Scotty’s Day with events going on across the country getting involved is easy. Simply text SDAY16 £5 to 70070 and support Scotty’s day and help put a smile on the face of a bereaved child.

scotty

Leave a Reply

