Accept, adapt and overcome. 

Training has always been an escape, an opportunity to forget “real life” and just focus on one more rep or putting one foot in front of the other. Lately though it’s not been that way, it’s a battle, a battle between what I want to do and what I can do pain free. It’s a balancing act between being stubborn and pushing myself within limits. The truth is training in accordance with common advice on exercising with fibroids is frustrating, in reality nobody knows my body as well as me. Having initially been advised against high impact, heavy lifting and core work. What I’ve found is that whilst running is fine cycling is a form of slow painful torture resulting in abdominal pain for up to 48hours. Lifting and core work is more complicated certain exercises are fine others aren’t, anything face down is off limits whereas anything overhead is fine.  Every workout is a lesson and that’s what I’m trying to take from this period, even if, at times, I’m frustrated, annoyed and want to hide  away kicking and screaming (does that count as cardio?), I’m hopefully this experience will also make me more understanding when helping others on their fitness journey.


So what has my training involved? Running Wise I’ve dropped the volume and frequency whilst aiming to maintain some consistency. I’ve discovered that I can actually swim(ish), prior to he summer holidays 4 lengths would leave me knackered, I’m now up to 60 lengths, happy days. I have also found a fantastic ladies fitness class based in Whiterose crossfit, Horsforth. The ladies are so welcoming and the class allows you to work as hard as you want, usually whilst using what little breath you have left to have a laugh. There have been some tough workouts that have pushed me to the limits. I’m looking forward to more sessions with this great bunch.


Overall I’m learning to have some patience, to take a workout, listen to my body, adapt exercises when I need to and keep pushing forwards. This will, I’m sure, be tested this weekend at my first Spartan Race, there will be obstacles, there will be burpees and there there will be fun. Bring it on. 

2 thoughts on “Accept, adapt and overcome. 

Leave a Reply

