Time to Suffer. 

This weekend I will be returning to Rockingham, this time to the speedway, although speed is the last thing I will be aiming for. It’s time for the suffering race part 2. Initially I had planned to do the 10mile event although current circumstances and an attempt to be “sensible” (well as sensible as you can be entering an event named the Suffering) means the 5km will be the challenge of choice. The Suffering is the event I’ve enjoyed the most this year and  seems the fitting way to end my OCR season. I will undoubtedly be paying for membership to “team suffering” next year. Who knowsI may  even  attempt to become a Legend. 


This event is likely to be the final preparation event before the Big one – Rat Race Dirty Weekend. The journey to this point has been full of peaks and troughs and the coming months are likely to bring more physical and mental challenges.  Throughout this journey I never forget the reason for the journey, yes the personal challenge is a factor but raising funds and aware Awarenessfor the Royal British Legion and Scottys little soldiers is always the priority. 

Training started so well, PBS on an almost weekly basis, running became my new best friend. More recently running has been joined by swimming and pilates. Less PBs have been coming my way but I feel more well rounded and I’ve had my eyes opened to a whole new world of potential challenges – did anyone say Great North Swim?  triathlon?, Suffering Legend? Spartan Trifecta? The possibilities are endless! 

One thought on “Time to Suffer. 

Leave a Reply

